Skip to content

County department heads salary increases for 2024

By Enterprise Staff
Usually at the beginning of the year, the county commission approves the department head salaries as a matter of public record. This has not been done so far this year as labor negotiations have lingered. Commission Chair Loren Younggren said those are now complete and the board is awaiting final approval.
Once those are complete, the board will approve those changes at a board meeting. One of the interesting changes made was to longevity pay. Younggren said it was negotiated to move longevity pay to increments of 10, 15 and 20 years at increases of 4, 6 and 8 percent.
The previous longevity pay – which has been grandfathered in for those who already received it – were 15, 20 and 25 years at 5, 10 and 15 percent. Department heads who receive longevity pay now are Kathy Johnson, Kristi Hultgren and Shirley Swenson, each of whom have been with the county for over 25 years.
Until such time as the board addresses this issue, the Enterprise requested the salaries and received the approved 2024 hourly wages for county department heads. Those with an asterisk (*) indicate the hourly wage includes the longevity pay.
• Incoming administrator Aimee Sugden – $44.77
• Chief Assessor Alyssa Gustafson – $39.21
• Chief Financial Officer Shirley Swenson – $50.43*
• Environmental Ser-vices Director Scot Olson – $41.46
• Highway Engineer Andrea Weleski – $61.81
• IT Director Lance Henrickson – $54.34
• Recorder Kristi Hultgren – $51.59*
• Social Services Director Kathy Johnson – $57.40*

Leave a Comment